Paint Annapolis 2015 International Plein Air Competition and Exhibition

Presented by the Maryland Federation of Art

A Plein Air Painting Competition

Plein air is painting outside – rather than in a studio. The term comes from the French ‘en plein air’, meaning ‘in the open air’.
Popularized by Impressionists who were particularly interested in the influence of changing light
and the effects of light on color when outdoors, plein air painting is now flourishing as its own art form.

Paint Annapolis is a five-day juried plein air painting competition held in June, that brings to Annapolis plein air painters from around the world. For 14 years it has been a premier event, bringing artists and patrons of the arts together to share in the spirit of the energy and vibrancy of outdoor painting. The event is designed to explore in paint the special colonial architecture, marine atmosphere and overall energy of Maryland’s capital city and a former capital of the United States – home to families, business, colleges, and maritime activities.

The painting event, held on city streets around Annapolis, brings a vibrancy of art to the community. Hundreds of residents and visitors come out during the four-day event to watch the painters create art from our cityscape and waterfront. Thirty artists are selected from more than 100 entering professionals. At least one artist from Wexford, Ireland is selected as part of a continuing cultural exchange between Annapolis and Wexford.

In 2015, Paint Annapolis took place from June 8-14 and ws a great success. Juror Billyo O’Donnell from Missouri selected the participating artists in the plein air competition.

2015 Competition Details

Selection Juror: Billyo O’Donnell, Nationally recognized landscape artist and plein air painter.
Juror selected 30 participants.
Awards Juror: David Lussier, Award winning contemporary impressionist and Plein Air painter.

Dueling Brushes, open to both Paint Annapolis artists and the general public, was juried by local celebrated artist Abigail McBride.

Competition June 8-14
Exhibition June 14-21
Awards Total: $10,000

2015 Accepted Artists

  • David Diaz (MD)
  • Lee Boynton (MD)
  • Joanne Geisel (NC)
  • Kathleen Kotarba (MD)
  • Lynn Mehta (VA)
  • Jackie Clark (NY)
  • Greg Johannesen (MD)
  • Monique Kendikian-Sarkessian (PA)
  • Michael Kotarba (MD)
  • Bruno Baran (MD)
  • Raymond Ewing (MD)
  • Dennis Young (DE)
  • Joseph Palmerio (FL)
  • Ned Mueller (WA)
  • Elise Phillips (PA)
  • Elissa Gore (NY)
  • Jeremy Shires (NJ)
  • Stephanie Amato (NJ)
  • Suzanne Morris (VA)
  • Elizabeth Rhoades (CT)
  • William Rogers (CAN)
  • Russell Jewell (SC)
  • Katie Cundiff (FL)
  • Beth Bathe (PA)
  • Anne Gibson Snyder (MD)
  • Elaine Lisle (PA)
  • Pratima Rao (NJ)
  • Paul George (MA)
  • Karen Scannell (IRL)
  • Marilyn Rose (NJ)

First Place: Katie Dobson Cundiff, Shadyside Packing House

Second Place: Ned Mueller, All Tied Up…and No Place to Go

Third Place: Lee Boynton, Wednesday Night

Honorable Mention: Raymond Ewing, Bike Alley

Honorable Mention: Elise Phillips, Sundown

Honorable Mention: Michael Kotarba, Maryland Ave

Annapolis Business Alliance Award for Best Painting on Main Street: Elise Phillips, Main Street

Four Rivers Heritage Area Award for Best Painting Not in Annapolis City: David Diaz, The Cove

USNA Award for Best Painting on Naval Academy Grounds: Russell Jewell, Hallowed Ground

Splash Award for Best Painting Incorporating Water: Lynn Mehta, Boat Launch

Thank you to all of our Paint Annapolis Sponsors!

Corporate Sponsors

Annapolis Maritime Museum
Annapolis Business Association
Art Things, Inc
City of Annapolis
Four Rivers Heritage Area
McBride Gallery
Olson Insurance Inc.
Mid Atlantic Plein Air Painters Association
West Annapolis Artworks and Fine Framing
Signs by Tomorrow

Individual Sponsors

Martha Blaxall & Joe Dickey
Kathy & Matt Mathai
Stillwell Family
Jim Cheevers
Rob & Sharon Mumma
Gail & Rob Higginbotham
David & Ardis Diaz
Wil & Siena Scott
Dana Kern & Richard Osial
Joann & Bill Vaughan
Susi & Rob Conley
The Kincey & Bruce Potter Environmental Fund
Ward and Kathleen Anderson
Eric Zacharias
Lorraine and Jim Ellerson

Friends of Paint Annapolis

Frank & Sharon Arsenault
DH Banker
Elizabeth McBride Nielsen
Bonnie and Jerry Parks
Hunter Wyatt-Brown
Phylis Jaffe